Georgia State shut out of Sun Belt basketball awards


For the first time since Ron Hunter took over the Georgia State men’s basketball program before the 2011-12 season, the team was shut out of the postseason all-conference awards announced by the Sun Belt on Tuesday.

Not even Jeremy Hollowell, 10th in the league in scoring at 14.7 points per game, made the third team.

The exclusions reflect the team’s average performance in the conference this season.

Picked in the preseason by coaches to finish second, the Panthers instead finished sixth (16-13, 9-11).

The team will play Texas State in the first round of the Sun Belt tournament on Thursday in New Orleans.

Hunter said he wasn’t disappointed, but said if his players were the conference tournament is a great time to go do something about it.



First Team All-Conference

Tookie Brown (Georgia Southern, freshman, guard)

Josh Hagins (Arkansas-Little Rock, senior, guard)

Shawn Long (Louisiana-Lafayette, senior, forward)

Majok Deng (Louisiana-Monroe, senior, forward)

Erick Neal (UT Arlington, sophomore, guard)


Second Team All-Conference

Frank Eaves (Appalachian State, senior, guard)

Anthony Livingston (Arkansas State, junior, forward)

Marcus Johnson Jr. (Arkansas-Little Rock, junior, guard)

Justin Roberson (Louisiana-Monroe, senior, guard)

Wesley Person (Troy, sophomore, guard)


Third Team All-Conference

Devin Carter (Arkansas State, junior, guard)

Mike Hughes (Georgia Southern, sophomore, guard)

Roger Woods (Arkansas-Little Rock, senior, forward)

Ken Williams (South Alabama, junior, guard)

Emani Gant (Texas State, senior, forward)


Student-Athlete of the Year

Shawn Long (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., F/C, General Studies)


Defensive Student-Athlete of the Year

Justin Roberson (Louisiana-Monroe, senior, guard)


Freshman of the Year

Tookie Brown (Georgia Southern, freshman, guard)


Coach of the Year

Chris Beard, Arkansas-Little Rock


View Comments 0